This is the "CME" page of the "CME/CNE - Continuing Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CME/CNE - Continuing Education   Tags: education, professional development  

Sources for continuing medical education and continuing nursing eduction
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

CME Print Page

CME Requirements: Pennsylvania

State Board of Medicine regulations state that to renew a medical license a physician needs:

  • Completion of 100 credit hours of continuing medical education in the preceding biennial period, which runs from January 1 of the odd year through December 31 of the next even year.
  • Two hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.
  • A minimum of 20 of the total credit hours must be from Category 1
  • 12 credit hours must be in the areas of patient safety or risk management. They can be from either Category 1 or Category 2.
  • 2 credit hours from a Department of Human Services' (formerly DPW) approved course on the topic of mandated child abuse recognition and reporting for a license renewal (effective 1/1/2015) OR 3 credit hours from a Department of Human Services' approved course on the topic of mandated child abuse recognition and reporting for an initial license (effective 1/1/2015)

What is the difference between Category 1 and Category 2 credit hours?

Category 1 activities are those that have been approved by an accredited provider. You will know an activity is Category 1 because all of the promotional materials will contain a statement similar to the following:

"This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). The (sponsoring organization, such as the Pennsylvania Medical Society) is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians."

"The (sponsoring organization) designates this educational activity for a maximum of (number of credits) AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s). Physician should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the educational activity."

Your CME certificate will also state that the activity has been approved for Category 1 credit and name the institution or organization that is awarding the credit.

Category 2 credit hours consist of self-directed learning or courses that have not been through a formal approval process. Examples of Category 2 activities include:.

  • Reading authoritative medical literature
  • Teaching medical students, residents or other health care professionals
  • Research projects
  • Consultations with peers and experts
  • Using non-designated enduring materials

For more information about MD (allopathic) requirements for licensure, see Continuing Medical Education Requirements: MD (Unrestricted License).

Reference Desk

Profile Image
Talbot Research Library & Media Services
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Tel. 215-728-2711
Send Email

Loading  Loading...