EndNote Q&A
Basic Terms
EndNote library: Your database of literature references/citations. Each reference in an EndNote library is stored as an individual record with specific fields for the author, title, publisher, date, and more.
Reference types: There is a template for each reference type in an EndNote library (e.g. journals, books, newspaper articles, conference proceedings). Version X4 has 47 reference types with 3 unused templates for user-created reference types.
Connection files: These files allow you to search selected databases without leaving the EndNote program. Some of these resources, such as library catalogs and PubMed, are freely available and either install with the EndNote program or are available for download from the EndNote Website.
Import filters: These files provide a match between references downloaded from databases or systems and the data fields in EndNote records. Import filters are designed to work with specific information providers and specific databases.
Output styles: These files are used to control the appearance of in-text citations and references in a bibliography. The style names are based on style guides (APA, Chicago, MLA) and journal publications, such as Nature, American Educational Research Journal, Educational Administration Quarterly, Journal of Banking and Finance, and many more.
Term lists: These are lists of words or phrases that serve as indexes for your EndNote library. Term lists are used for searching, helping with data entry, and creating bibliographies. Three terms lists are automatically created and updated: Authors, Journals, and Keywords
New Features in EndNote X5
- Find reference updates—highlight the references and begin reviewing available updates to enrich your EndNote library.
- Let EndNote search online and present you with updated record information.
- Update empty fields or replace all fields.
- View and annotate PDF files in the main library window
- Navigate to other attachments easily.
- Annotate your PDF with highlights and/or comments.
- Add and move file attachments between the computer
and Web—requires registering with EndNote X5. - Attach files to an EndNote Web record for
flexibility in collecting reference information. - Store up to 25,000 references on the Web with 1GB for file attachments.
- Transfer up to 5,000 references between your computer and Web.
- Cite While You Write™ New Options
- Save time with conditional formatting in journal styles—substitute data if a field is empty.
- Select a new citation style—Author (Year)—in Microsoft® Word.
- Compare duplicate references quickly with auto-highlights and locked scrolling.
- Open and convert Reference Manager 12 databases.
- Edit and update Reference Manager 11/12 citations in Microsoft Word documents.
- Cite While You Write in over 5,000 journal styles!
Virtual Reference Desk |
About this Guide
Portions of this guide were adapted from SLU's EndNote LibGuide by Georgia Baugh, MA, MALIS.


Loading...


Loading...
