This is the "FAQ" page of the "Temple Health Affiliation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Temple Health Affiliation  

What does it mean for library resources and services?
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fccc.edu/tuhsfaq Print Guide RSS Updates
FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Message to Our Users

Many of you have approached members of the Talbot Research Library & Media Services staff with questions regarding how the affiliation with Temple University Health System will affect the Library. We would like to express to our users that we will remain as the primary information center for all personnel at Fox Chase Cancer Center and continue to provide access to quality resources and information services.

With this guide, we will endeavor to provide clear answers to some of the most common questions our users have asked us about the affiliation. If you still have questions, comments, or concerns after reading this guide, please direct them to us and refrain from contacting staff at a Temple library.

For access to the Temple University Libraries website & the Temple University Ginsburg Health Sciences Library website, click on the images below:

                                               

 

Can I access Temple's e-journals remotely?

If you have a Faculty Appointment and have secured a Temple Owl Card, you may use Temple University electronic library resources remotely.  If you have questions about Faculty Status, please direct them to J. Robert Beck, MD, Chief Academic Officer.

If you do not have an owl card, you can not use Temple University  electronic resources remotely. Temple's libraries are part of the university, not the health system. Temple University and Temple University Health System (TUHS) are separate corporations, and Fox Chase Cancer Center is presently affiliated only with TUHS, not the university. Therefore, Fox Chase employees are not automatically granted access to Temple Libraries. Electronic journal licensing forbids unauthorized users from using e-resources remotely. Temple's journal licenses prevent remote access to anyone outside of the university system.


The good news is that the Talbot Research Library & Media Services presently has over 6,800 unique journal titles available to you. Use our Journal Holdings list to access these titles. We also use a sophisticated system to help link you from citations in databases to full-text articles in our collection.

 

Can I access Temple's databases remotely?

No. Similar rules that apply to e-journals (see above) apply to databases as well, except for free ones like PubMed.


The good news is that the Talbot Research Library & Media Services provides you with free access to almost all of our high-quality databases such as Web of Science, PsycINFO, UpToDate, and ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health. For a full list of all available databases, please consult our Databases A-Z web page.

 

Temple has a journal article that you don't have. Can I get it for free?

Yes, we can get it for you at no charge, but only if it is from the Temple University Ginsburg Health Sciences Library.* We have established a  reciprocal borrowing agreement with Temple University Ginsburg Health Sciences Library. If there is an article you need that we do not have and the Temple University Ginsburg Health Sciences Library does, you can submit a document delivery request to us. The same delivery time and copyright fees (when applicable) as any other document delivery request still apply. Please DO NOT contact a Temple library to request an article! We are more than happy to make the arrangements for you.

*Temple reserves the right to reject our interlibrary loan requests on the basis of licensing restrictions.

 

If I visit a Temple Library, can I use their resources?

Yes. Temple Libraries do serve the public, so anyone can visit and use their resources. However, each library has its own unique guest policies in place.

The Ginsburg Health Sciences Library is located at 3500 N. Broad Street (N.W. corner of Broad and Tioga Streets). FCCC personnel may visit this library to access Temple's health sciences resources but are not permitted to borrow books. ID is required to enter the building.

Talbot Research Library & Media Services also accommodates guests who are not employees of Fox Chase Cancer Center. You can always contact us for more information about our guest policies.

 

Does the Talbot Research Library serve Jeanes Hospital?

Yes. Talbot Research Library & Media Services has been serving Jeanes Hospital for many years. With the new affiliation, we will be more actively promoting our resources and services to Jeanes employees.

Under our current licenses, Jeanes employees do not have direct electronic access to our journals, databases, or e-books outside the library. However, we can send free articles through a secure system to Jeanes employees by request. Please use our document delivery form to request delivery of articles from the Library to Jeanes Hospital. Jeanes employees are also welcome to visit the Library to use our resources.

Talbot librarians are available to Jeanes employees for information support and research assistance. Please visit our Ask Us web page to find out how to contact a librarian.

Reference Desk

Profile Image
Talbot Research Library & Media Services
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Tel. 215-728-2711
Send Email
 

Faculty Access to TU Holdings via PubMed

For instructions on faculty access to Temple University library holdings via PubMed, click on the PPT below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip